Bubnick, Bortis up for Huskie Athletic Awards

(release from Huskie Athletics)

Huskie Athletics is proud to announce the nominees for the Major 7 Awards to be handed out at the 2013 Huskie Salute on April 5 at TCU Place.

The Major 7 Awards are handed to those athletes who have had outstanding seasons for the green and white, as well as made big contributions on the field, in the classroom and in the community during their time with the Huskies. Huskie Athletics will also honour Canada West All-Stars and Major Award Winners, CIS All-Canadians and Major Award Winners and fifth year athletes, as well as hand out the Trainer of the Year award.

And the nominees are…

Howard Nixon Trophy – Male Rookie of the Year

Starting all but one match as a rookie in midfield…
Mitch Bauche, Soccer

Leading rookies in conference scoring…
Jimmy Bubnick, Hockey

Winning three conference medals…
Alex Fedyk, Track & Field

Pat Lawson Trophy – Female Rookie of the Year

Canada West silver medalist…
Tye Buettner, Track & Field

Leading the Canada West in saves…
Cassidy Hendricks, Hockey

Averaging 16 minutes per game off the bench…
Desarae Hogberg, Basketball

Leading her team with eight goals to a first-ever playoff appearance…
Jenelle Zapski, Soccer

E. Kent Phillips Trophy – Male Athlete of the Year

Leading the Canada West in scoring….
Kyle Bortis, Hockey

Leading the Canada West in assists…
Chris Gilbert, Volleyball

Setting two school records, while leading the Canada West in receptions…
Kit Hillis, Football

Canada West MVP and leading scorer…
Stephon Lamar, Basketball

Starting all matches and scoring a conference second-best 15 points…
Brett Levis, Soccer

Mary Ethel Cartwright Trophy – Female Athlete of the Year

Capturing two Canada West medals…
Amanda Banks, Track & Field

Leading the Huskies in scoring and rebounds…
Dalyce Emmerson, Basketball

Winning her third straight CIS silver medal…
Koren Pitkethly, wrestling

Rusty McDonald Trophy – All-Round Male Athlete

A captain, all-academic and five-year HAC representative…
Jeff Grant, Volleyball

A Canada West champion track athlete, soccer player and master student…
Nick Clarke, Track & Field

A captain, All-Canadian and Huskie Athletics ambassador…
Bryce McCall, Football

Three-time All-Canadian, an All-Academic and HAC President…
Landon Squires, Wrestling

Valerie Girsberger Trophy – All-Round Female Athlete

A three-time All-Star, CIS Major Award winner and All-Academic…
Natasha Kramble, Wrestling

An all-star, leader for her team and All-Academic…
Morgan Sawatzky, Track & Field

Colb McEwon – Coach of the Year

This award’s winner will be announced at Salute
Doors open for Huskie Salute begins at 7 p.m. The program begins at 7:30 p.m. Guest are encouraged to show their Huskie Pride and include a splash of green in their outfit.
Tickets are available for teams through a HAC representative or by calling 306-966-1023. Ticket prices are $10.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: